Skip to main content

The Minnesota Digital Library (MDL) Governance Committee guides and oversees MDL, including policy; mission and vision; fiscal oversight; planning; advocacy and advancement; partnership strategies and development; and communication with key constituencies and complementary organizations.

The MDL Governance Committee is comprised of leaders representing a variety of cultural heritage organizations and libraries. Committee membership consists of four standing members and seven rotating members from organizations that have partnered with MDL.

Standing Members

Shawn Rounds
Minnesota Historical Society Representative
Director of Library & Archives

Jason Roy
University of Minnesota Representative
Director of Cataloging, Metadata, & Digitization Services

Maggie Snow
Minitex Representative

Tami Lee
State Library Services Representative
Director of Libraries and Expanded Learning

Rotating Members

Term expiration dates are listed in parentheses.

Keith Cich
Tribal College Libraries and Cultural Institutions Representative (2024)
Ruth A. Myers Library, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College

Heidi Simons
K-12 Schools Representative (2025)
Bloomington Public Schools

Carla Lydon
Public Library Representative (2024)
Executive Director, East Central Regional Library

Laura Probst
Academic Institution Representative (2024)
Director, Carl B. Ylvisaker Library, Concordia College

Coventry Royster Cowens
Cultural Heritage Society Representative (2024)
Director, Minnesota African American Heritage Museum and Gallery

Jill Smith
Minnesota Public Library Representative (2024)
Executive Director, Bayport Public Library

Tom Steman
Academic Institution Representative (2025)
University Archivist & Professor, St. Cloud State University

Madeline Kuncio
Governmental Library Representative (2026)
Digitization and Reference Librarian, MnDOT Library

Bri Kumwiede
Cultural Heritage Society Representative (2026)
Archives Assistant, Blue Earth County Historical Society

Ex-Officio Staff Liaison

Zach Miller
Committee Secretary
Head of Communications, Minitex

Staff contact
Zach Miller

Head of Communications