Skip to main content

Quick Summary

The Council of Academic Library Directors (CALD) held its annual meeting at Bethel University on Friday, November 4. Discussions at the meeting touched on staff recruitment, open educational resources, space design, and more. Thirty-two staff people from 25 libraries attended the meeting.

A black and white photograph of a presenter standing aside a presentation screen, addressing an audience grouped at several round tables.

Minnesota's Council of Academic Library Directors held its annual meeting on Friday, November 4. The day began with time for networking and updates from Minitex, followed by two discussions. In the morning conversation, small groups discussed recruitment, retention, and professional development. After lunch, groups discussed building and maintaining collections, open educational resources, and paid streaming/vendor-supplied content.

Three presentations on the theme of "Evolving Spaces for Collaboration Opportunities" and a tour of Bethel's library and archives rounded out the day. The presentations were made by Erinn Aspinall of the University of Minnesota's Health Sciences Library, Rachelle Waldon of North Central University, and Jon Neilson of Concordia University, Saint Paul.

The meeting was very well attended, including staff from the following institutions:

  • Augsburg University
  • Bethany Lutheran College
  • Bethel University
  • College of Saint Benedict & Saint John's University
  • College of Saint Scholastica
  • Concordia University, Saint Paul
  • Hamline University
  • Macalester College
  • Mayo Clinic Libraries
  • Metropolitan State University
  • Minitex
  • Minneapolis College of Art & Design
  • Minnesota State Mankato
  • North Central University
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • PALS (Program for Automated Library Systems)
  • Ridgewater College
  • Saint Cloud State University
  • Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Winona State University
  • University of Saint Catherine
  • University of Minnesota Crookston
  • University of Minnesota Morris
  • University of Minnesota Twin Cities
  • University of Saint Thomas

The meeting took place in the Olson Board Room of the Benson Great Hall on the campus of Bethel University. It began at 9:00 a.m. and concluded at 4:00 p.m.

Written by

Zach Miller
Head of Communications