Alert icon. Minitex Resource Sharing and Delivery services are suspended. If your library is closing, reducing services, or taking other precautions, please let us know.

Data Structure Standards

Dublin Core Metadata Element Set (DCMES)

The Dublin Core Metadata Element Set (DCMES) is an internationally recognized metadata standard that includes 15 basic elements used to describe a wide variety of digital resources.

Who Uses Dublin Core?

Any institution using CONTENTdm (OCLC's Digital Collection Management software) also uses Dublin Core to describe their digital content. Visit the OCLC CONTENTdm Collection of Collections webpage for a list of institutions using Dublin Core and CONTENTdm.

MARC (Machine Readable Cataloging)

A numeric data structure for bibliographic description, authority, classification, and holdings data, MARC (Machine Readable Cataloging) is used for describing bibliographic materials to facilitate cooperative cataloging and data exchange between integrated library systems.

Who Uses MARC?

Primarily the library community uses the MARC format. More information about MARC can be found on the Cataloging Encoding Standards webpage.


Communications icon.

Stay up to date on cataloging news and events by visiting the following resources: